Lebanon Sports Buzz
Breaking News

7 years ago
Big Honor for Khalique Washington


Lebanon High School has a long and storied connection with the Big 33 High School all-star football game. It’s a tradition Khalique Washington will carry on proudly.

Washington recently became the tenth Lebanon player to be selected when he was added to the Pennsylvania squad for the 2017 edition of the Big 33 contest. Washington and Pennsylvania will take on Maryland on Maryland in the 60th Big 33 Classic, June 17th at its new home, Central Dauphin school district’s Landis Field.

The selection and the exposure that accompanies it can only aid Washington’s pursuit of playing football at the highest level in college. The 6-5, 280-pound Washington plans to attend Dodge City Community College in Kansas to further his academic and athletic careers.

Before being added to the Pennsylvania Big 33 squad, Washington had been slated to compete in the East-West all-star game in Altoona. Washington will be joined on the Pennsylvania team by his high school head coach, Gerry Yonchiuk.

They say you can’t coach size. But Washington, who showed consistent improvement during this past basketball season as a center for the Cedars, possesses mobility, athleticism and quick feet.

The last Lebanon graduate to compete in the Big 33 Classic was Mark Pyles in 2014.



Lebanon County’s Big 33 Participants

1957 – Jim Boger, Lebanon, Ken Wolfe, Lebanon
1959 –  Paul Miller,  Lebanon
1960-  Mark Snyder, Lebanon
1961 –  Clark Silik, Lebanon,  Ed Swettzer, Palmyra
1962 –  Jim Landis, Palmyra,  Gary Savich, Palmyra
1964 –  Roger Grimes, Cornwall
1967 –  Mike Smith, Lebanon Catholic
1969 –  John MacConnell, Palmyra
1971 – Fred Demler, Lebanon Catholic, Dale Gingrich, Annville-Cleona
1972 –  Bob Yost, Lebanon Catholic
1976 – Jeff Morrow, Annville-Cleona
1977 –  Ed DiAntonio, Palmyra
1978 –  Jon Lebo, Lebanon
1980 – Frank Reich, Cedar Crest
1982 –  Mike Shiner, Elco
1995 – Ethan Weidle, Lebanon Catholic
1999 – Mike Kitchen, Lebanon
2000 –  Mike Van Aken, Cedar Crest
2002 –  Jaren Hayes, Cedar Crest
2006 –  Jared Odrick, Lebanon
2009 – James Capello, Lebanon
2012 –  Jon Hicks, Palmyra
2014 – Mark Pyles, Lebanon
 2017 – Khalique Washington

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven + = 15