Lebanon Sports Buzz
Breaking News

12 years ago
Lebanon Country Club Braces for Out-of-Town Invasion


With hordes of invaders amassing outside the border, all that Lebanon County has left with which to defend itself is a small, but talented contingent of freedom fighters.

No, this is not war. It’s something more important. It’s golf.

After the dust had settled on Friday’s second day of qualifying for the W.B. Sullivan Better-Ball-of-Partners golf tournament, just two local teams stood in the way of an out-of-town team being assured a second straight championship. Andy Gibbons-Jimmy Gardner and Chris Gebhard-Jeff Daniels were the only local teams to make it to the match-play championship flight.

During the second-day of qualifying at the par-72, 6,562-yard LCC layout, Gibbons and Gardner posted a seven-under par score of 65 to earn the championshp flight’s number-four seed. Meanwhile, Gebhard and Daniels registered a five-under 67 to grab the seventh seed.

When the championship flight unfolds on Saturday morning, Gibbons and Gardner will be opposed by 13th-seeded William Chase and Phil D’Amato. Gebhard and Daniels will take on the tenth-seeded duo of Doug Hallman and Shane Behmer.

Opening-round winners will advance to Saturday afternoon’s quarterfinals. The Sullivan semifinals are slated for Sunday morning, and the final match is expected to tee off sometime around 2 p.m. on Sunday.

Danny McCreesh and Anthony Campanile are the event’s defending champs.

The team of Bill Cregar and Billy Cregar claimed medalist honors with a nine-under par 63 on Friday.



Saturday’s Tee Times and Seedings

7:30 a.m. – (1) Danny McCreesh-Anthony Campanile vs. (16) Dan Ott-Lance Oberparleiter

7:39 a.m. – (8) Steve Walton-Marco Poccia vs. (9) Joe Russo-Joey Russo

7:48 a.m. – (4) Jim Gardner-Andy Gibbons vs. (13)William Chase-Phil D’Amato

7:57 a.m. – (5) Jamie McCallum-Tim Heinley vs. (12) Jared Palubinski-Rod James

8:06 a.m. – (2) Bill Cregar and Billy Cregar vs. (15) Brady Goodling-Kyle Deisher

 8:15 a.m. – (7) Chris Gebhard-Jeff Daniels vs. (10) Doug Hallman-Shane Behmer

8:24 a.m. – (3) Brian Golembiewski-Casey Blankenbiller vs. (14) Matt Leaman-Jon Bensing

8:33 a.m. – (6) Paul Bickford-Steve Passalaqua vs. (11) Ryan Beck-Mike McComb


For complete W.B. Sullivan Results and Tee Times, click here;






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five − 4 =