Lebanon Sports Buzz
Breaking News

10 years ago
County Duos Determined to Defend Local Honor at Sullivan Tourney


Well, it would seem that the locale has its work cut out for it. But in this modern realm of the W.B. Sullivan tournament, that fact is certainly nothing new.

On Friday at the par-72, 6,562-yard Lebanon Country Club golf course, the 16-team championship flight for the 69th annual Sullivan better-ball-of-partners tournament was determined by the second day of qualifying. As has been the case in recent years, local teams experienced difficulties holding their own against out-of-town twosomes.

Joining defending champions Scott Mayne and Derek Price in the championship flight were Lebanon Country Club member Brady Goodling and partner Kyle Deisher, who earned the second seed in match play with a medalist score of 66, or six-under par. Jim Gardner and Andy Gibbons, the last Lebanon County team to capture the title of the prestigious event, in 2012, qualified for the championship flight with a 69, as did the local tandem of Mike Schmidt, Jr. and John DiGiacomo with their 69.

Also on Friday, Matt Knox and Randy Mull carded a 69 to earn a spot in the match-play flight, and Corey Wenger and Garret Barbush fired a five-under 67 to earn the number-four seed.

The opening round and quarterfinals of the championship flight will be contested on Saturday morning and afternoon. The Saturday survivors will square off on Sunday morning in the semifinals, while the championship match is slated to tee off at 2 p.m. on Sunday.

69th Annual  W.B. Sullivan Better-ball-of-Partners

(at 6,562-yard, par-72 Lebanon Country Club)

Championship Flight

1 vs. 16 – Scott Mayne-Derek Price vs. Andy Marinak-Jason Radic
2 vs. 15 – Brady Goodling-Kyle Deisher vs. Jim Gardina-Craig LaBarbera
3 vs. 14 – Patrick Sullivan-David Kimbley vs. Mike Fizz-Kelly Patton
4 vs. 13 – Garret Barbush-Corey Wenger vs. Byron Whitman-Phil Rothermel
5 vs. 12 – Philip Cilo-P.J. Tighe vs. Perry Landis-Josh Krumholz
6 vs. 11 – Doug Hallman-Brad Goddard vs. Matt Knox-Randy Mull
7 vs. 10 – Mike Turner-Andy Brightbill vs. Jim Gardner-Andy Gibbons
8 vs. 9 – Tom Alestock-Rocky Dare vs. John DiGiacomo-Michael Schmidt Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × = sixteen