Lebanon Sports Buzz
Breaking News

8 years ago
A Decade Later, Odrick Returns to Big 33 as Honorary Chairperson


Over the past six decades, Lebanon County has been represented by the participation of 27 student-athletes in the prestigious Big 33 Football Classic, in Hershey. During the same time, the locale has had quite a few less natives serve as the event’s honorary chair-person.

Count Jared Odrick among the few who have done both.

Lebanon’s Odrick was recently named as the Big 33 Classic’s Honorary Chairperson for the 2016 game, which will be contested on Saturday, June 18 at 7 p.m. at Hersheypark Stadium. One of the premiere high school all-star football games in the country, the Big 33 Football Classic pits graduated seniors who have committed to play major college football from Pennsylvania against a similar squad from Maryland.

“It’s a privilege and an honor to serve as Honorary Chairman for the 2016 Big 33 Classic,” wrote Odrick on his Facebook page. “Thank you to the committee for allowing me to come back and be a part of such a renowned tradition.”

Following his senior season as a Cedar, Odrick represented Lebanon High School at the 2006 Big 33 Classic. He then matriculated to Penn State University, before being drafted by the Miami Dolphins with the 28th overall in the 2010 NFL draft.

Odrick is currently a defensive tackle with the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Lebanon County’s Big 33 Participants

1957 – Jim Boger, Lebanon, Ken Wolfe, Lebanon
1959 –  Paul Miller,  Lebanon
1960-  Mark Snyder, Lebanon
1961 –  Clark Silik, Lebanon,  Ed Swettzer, Palmyra
1962 –  Jim Landis, Palmyra,  Gary Savich, Palmyra
1964 –  Roger Grimes, Cornwall
1967 –  Mike Smith, Lebanon Catholic
1969 –  John MacConnell, Palmyra
1971 – Fred Demler, Lebanon Catholic, Dale Gingrich, Annville-Cleona
1972 –  Bob Yost, Lebanon Catholic
1976 – Jeff Morrow, Annville-Cleona
1977 –  Ed DiAntonio, Palmyra
1978 –  Jon Lebo, Lebanon
1980 – Frank Reich, Cedar Crest
1982 –  Mike Shiner, Elco
1995 – Ethan Weidle, Lebanon Catholic
1999 – Mike Kitchen, Lebanon
2000 –  Mike Van Aken, Cedar Crest
2002 –  Jaren Hayes, Cedar Crest
2006 –  Jared Odrick, Lebanon
2009 – James Capello, Lebanon
2012 –  Jon Hicks, Palmyra
2014 – Mark Pyles, Lebanon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× six = 18